Edgar_Allan_Poe_daguerreotype_crop Quote- “They who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night.” Edgar Allan Poe

Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/e/edgar_allan_poe.html

My Love for Edgar Allan Poe

Edgar Allan Poe became one of my favorite writer’s early on in middle school. I got into so much trouble with him in school, one because I was always reading his writings when I should be doing school work and two because I would try to mimic his style of writing in Language class. I was sent to both the principal and the school counselor….neither was amused. These people introduced me to the wonderful world of Edgar Allan Poe and then get mad when I fall madly in love with his writings. They enticed to love him but then chastised me for doing so.

Even from those days long ago the American public school system has a long way to go. Hell, I don’t think that they even teach the children about him anymore. My children only know him because I read his writings to them; I teach them about one of the greatest authors that have ever lived, as well as many other great classic authors that they no longer learn about in school. The school system is failing because they are too up-tight about political correctness to teach all of the classics. They who dream by day are cognizant…. indeed.

Picture Reference

Wikipedia. (2016). [Edgar Allen Poe]. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edgar_Allan_Poe

